Skip to main content

Information

The novel coronavirus in a few words

The infectious agent

Coronaviruses are infectious agents originating from humans or animals (depending on the strain) that have been known for a long time. In humans, they cause acute respiratory disease.

Epidemiology

The new coronavirus, called SARS-CoV-2, appeared at the end of 2019 in China. It is generating a global epidemic of a disease (called COVID-19) as it is highly contagious and the general population does not have immunity to this new virus.

Cases are now rare in China and decreasing in Europe, while we are seeing an acceleration of the spread of the pandemic in the rest of the world.

Transmission

The new coronavirus is transmitted mainly through close and prolonged contact, that is, staying within 1.5 meters of an infected person for at least 15 minutes. 

The virus is spread via saliva droplets from an infected person, transmitted through coughing, speaking or even breathing, or when left on surfaces that are touched shortly thereafter. It is not transmitted without direct contact with micro droplets of saliva, as it is not suspended in the air.

Incubation

The time from contact with the virus and the onset of the first symptoms is usually between 2 to 14 days. 50% of people have symptoms within five days of infection. When a person has a viral infection of the respiratory tract (cough, fever), it is probable to be more contagious when symptoms are more evident.

A patient can be contagious several days before symptoms appear.

Clinical

The disease, called COVID-19, most commonly manifests as a flu-like condition (fever and/or cough) that lasts for a few days to 2 or 3 weeks. The illness is usually mild in young and healthy people (especially children) but can sometimes be severe in older people or those with chronic diseases. At present, its lethality is estimated to be about 10 times greater than that of seasonal flu.

Populations at risk

People over the age of 65, or those with a chronic illness such as high blood pressure (only if poorly controlled despite treatment), diabetes (if advanced disease with complications or HbA1c>8), cardiovascular disease, chronic respiratory disease, severe obesity (BMI>40kg/m2), immunosuppression due to a disease, treatment or cancer are at greater risk of developing a severe complication that can lead to death. Well treated allergic asthma is not considered a risk factor.

Being pregnant can, in rare cases, put you at risk of complications. Pregnant women must therefore strictly follow preventive measures.

Children

Children are probably less likely to be infected with the new coronavirus as compared with adults. They generally have milder symptoms (cough and/or fever) than adults, or no symptoms at all. Albeit very rare, severe complications are also possible.

Diagnosis

Currently only molecular tests on nasopharyngeal swabs are recognized for the diagnosis of acute COVID-19. Serological tests can detect whether one has produced antibodies in response to a previous resolved infection. Serology can be useful in assessing the level of immunity in the population and in deciding whether to suspend quarantine measures in previously infected individuals. However, although evidence suggests that antibodies may confer protection against re-infection, the level and duration of this hypothetical protection is still unknown.

Treatment

Dexamethasone is the one recommended treatment for COVID-19 but only has an effect on the most severe cases.
Several studies have failed to demonstrate the efficacy of chloroquine. Antivirals like remdesivir or lopinavir/ritonavir as well as drugs that affect the mechanisms of inflammation (tocilizumab, anakinra) are under investigation and may have a modest effect in some patients.

Prevention

If the official hygiene recommendations are properly applied, the risk of catching the virus is greatly reduced. It is therefore necessary to keep a distance of more than 1.5 meters from other people, wear a face mask when this is not possible and wash your hands before and after touching your face or objects used by other people. Wearing a mask is also compulsory on public transport and in shops (notably, for the cantons of Vaud, Geneva and Jura).

There are no other effective means of protecting oneself (specifically, no herbal remedies or other medicines) other than these hygiene measures, physical distancing and wearing a mask.

The CoronaCheck tool

Created in March 2020, CoronaCheck is the product of a close collaboration of experts from the Policlinic of Tropical, Travel and Vaccinal Medicine and engineers from the IT team of Unisanté. Thanks to their long experience in the development of clinical decision support algorithms, these experts in infectious disease, general medicine, public health and informatics could create a digital reference tool that help orient the popuation and health professionals based on recommendations tailored to their situation. The CoronaCheck algorithm follows the official recommendations of the Federal Office of Public Health as well as scientific literature and the latest medical knowledge.

Unisanté, a pioneering center in digital health

Coronacheck is part of the development of clinical decision support algorithms and other digital health tools, in which Unisanté is a pioneer. The work that Unisanté has been carrying out for 15 years in primary care medicine, has enabled it to develop effective tools for clinical management, promoting modern and personalized medicine.

The translation of this site into 11 languages was made possible thanks to the voluntary work of medical students via the METIS association, and the help of doctors from Unisanté and CHUV.

The logic behind coronacheck

Our algorithm is an adaptation of the official recommendations of the Federal Office of Public Health. The logic behind our tool is freely accessible at this link.

Aller au contenu principal

Informations

Le nouveau coronavirus en quelques mots

Agent infectieux

Les coronavirus sont des agents infectieux d'origine humaine ou animale selon la souche qui sont connus depuis longtemps. Ils provoquent des maladies respiratoires aiguës chez les êtres humains.

Epidémiologie

Le nouveau coronavirus, appelé SARS-CoV-2, est apparu fin 2019 en Chine. Il génère une épidémie mondiale d'une maladie appelée COVID-19 car il est très contagieux et la population n’a pas encore d’immunité contre ce nouveau virus. 

Transmission

Le nouveau coronavirus se transmet essentiellement en cas de contacts étroits et prolongés, c’est-à-dire si l’on se tient à moins de 1.5 mètre de distance d’une personne infectée pendant au moins 15 minutes. Le virus se transmet par gouttelettes provenant d’une personne infectée au travers de la toux, de la parole ou même de la respiration, ou laissées sur les surfaces que l’on touche peu après. 

Incubation

Le laps de temps entre le contact avec le virus et l’apparition des premiers symptômes est généralement de 2 à 14 jours. Une personne sur deux présente des symptômes dans les cinq jours suivant l'infection. Lorsqu’une personne est atteinte d’une infection virale des voies respiratoires (toux, fièvre), la contagiosité est probablement maximale au moment où les symptômes sont les plus forts. Un patient peut-être contagieux plusieurs jours avant même l’apparition des symptômes.

Clinique

La maladie, appelée COVID-19, se manifeste le plus souvent sous forme d’un état grippal (fièvre ou toux) qui dure de quelques jours à 2 ou 3 semaines. La maladie est en général bénigne chez les gens jeunes et en bonne santé, en particulier les enfants, mais peut parfois être grave chez les gens âgés ou qui ont une maladie chronique. A l’heure actuelle, on estime que sa létalité est environ 10 fois supérieure à celle de la grippe saisonnière.

Populations à risque

Les personnes âgées de plus de 65 ans, ou souffrant d'hypertension (uniquement si mal contrôlée malgré traitement), de diabète (si présence de complication tardive ou HbA1c >8), de maladie cardiovasculaire, d'une maladie respiratoire chronique, d'une obésité sévère (IMC ≥ 40 kg/m2) ou d'immunosuppression due à une maladie ou à un traitement ou cancer sont plus à risque de faire une complication sévère qui peut aboutir à la mort.
L’asthme allergique compensé n’est pas considéré comme un facteur de risque.

Le fait d'être enceinte peut, dans de rares cas, mettre à risque de complications. Les femmes enceintes doivent doivent donc suivre très strictement les mesures de prévention.

Enfants

Les enfants ont probablement moins de risque d’être infectés par le nouveau coronavirus que les adultes. Ils ont des symptômes (toux et/ou fièvre) plus légers que les adultes, voire pas de symptômes du tout. Bien que très rares, des complications sévères peuvent également survenir.

Diagnostic

Actuellement, seuls les tests moléculaires sur des frottis naso-pharyngés sont reconnus pour le diagnostic du COVID-19 aigu. Les tests sérologiques permettent quant à eux de détecter la présence d'anticorps suite à une infection ancienne guérie. La sérologie peut être utile pour évaluer le degré d’immunité dans la population ou éventuellement pour décider de la suspension des mesures de quarantaine chez les personnes ayant déjà eu l’infection auparavant. Cependant, bien que des indices le laissent supposer, il n'y pas de certitude absolue que la présence d'anticorps protège d'une nouvelle infection ni de la durée de cette hypothétique protection.

Traitement

La dexaméthasone est l'unique traitement recommandé contre COVID-19 mais n'a d'effet que sur les patients les plus graves. Plusieurs études n'ont pas permis de démontrer une efficacité de la chloroquine. Des antiviraux comme le remdesivir ou lopinavir/ritonavir ainsi que des médicament influant sur les mécanismes de l'inflammation (tocilizumab, anakinra) sont en cours d’investigation et pourraient avoir un effet modeste chez certains patients.

Prévention

Si l’on applique bien les recommandations d’hygiène officielles, le risque d’attraper le virus est fortement diminué. Il faut donc rester à plus de 1.5 mètre de toute personne, porter un masque si ce n'est pas possible, ainsi que se laver les mains avant et après s’être touché le visage ou avoir touché des objets en contact avec d'autres personnes. Le port du masque est également obligatoire dans les transports publics, ainsi que dans les commerces (notamment pour les cantons de Vaud, de Genève et du Jura). Il n’y a aucun moyen efficace (que ce soit des plantes ou des médicaments) autre que les mesures d’hygiène, de distance physique et/ou de port du masque pour se protéger.

L’outil Coronacheck

Créé en mars 2020, Coronacheck est le fruit de l’étroite collaboration des experts de la Policlinique de Médecine Tropicale, Voyages et Vaccinations et des ingénieurs de l'équipe Informatique d’Unisanté. Grâce à leur longue expérience dans le développement d’algorithmes d’aide à la décision clinique, ces experts en maladies infectieuses, médecine générale, santé publique et informatique ont pu concevoir un outil digital de référence qui permet à la population et aux professionnel.les de la santé de recevoir en quelques clics des recommandations spécifiques à leur situation particulière et de les orienter.
L’algorithme de Coronacheck reprend les recommandations officielles de l'Office Fédéral de la Santé Publique, ainsi que la littérature scientifique et les connaissances médicales actuelles.

Unisanté, un centre pionnier en santé numérique

Coronacheck s’inscrit dans le développement d’algorithmes d’aide à la décision clinique et d’autres outils de santé digitale, où Unisanté fait figure de pionnier. Les travaux qu’Unisanté mène depuis 15 ans au niveau de la médecine de premier recours lui ont permis de développer des outils performants pour la prise en charge clinique, valorisant une médecine à la fois moderne et personnalisée.

La traduction en onze langues du site Coronacheck a été rendue possible grâce au travail bénévole d’étudiants en santé de l’association METIS et l’aide de médecins d’Unisanté et du CHUV.
 

La logique derrière coronacheck

Notre algorithme est une adaptation des recommandations officielles de l'Office Fédéral de la Santé Publique. La logique derrière notre outil peut être librement consultée en suivant ce lien.